Meet the Class of 2018: Announcing the John Aman Memorial Scholarship Recipients

students graduating high school

Unison Credit Union is excited to announce the winners of the 2018 John Aman Memorial Scholarship! Five local high school seniors were awarded $2,000 each in recognition of the active roles they play in their communities and their exceptional volunteer efforts.

“The John Aman Memorial Scholarship allows Unison to recognize local students who embody the credit union philosophy of ‘people helping people,’” said Mark Hietpas, Unison Credit Union president and CEO. “I am proud to say that the 2018 scholarships have been awarded to five exemplary and inspiring students who are making lasting impacts in our communities.”

Without further ado, let’s meet some of the best and brightest of the Class of 2018!

Benjamin Brochtrup, Kaukauna High School

scholarship winnerA varsity volleyball and tennis player, Benjamin has been dedicated to athletics, academics and service. Recently in the Kaukauna High School FabLab, he created a prosthetic limb for a local disabled dog, and also served as a middle school volleyball coach. He plans to attend the University of Minnesota – Twin Cities where he will study aerospace engineering.

Carlie Hubbard, Wrightstown High School

carlie scholarship winner

As a member of Wrightstown High School student council and teen outreach, Carlie is a friendly and familiar face in her school and community. She also served as team captain for Relay for Life and has volunteered with the organization for more than eight years. This fall, Carlie will attend University of Wisconsin – Madison as she begins pre-medical studies.

Megan Lonigro, Little Chute High School

megan scholarship winner

Little Chute High School senior, Megan, was involved in a variety of extracurricular activities including student council and softball. She also worked to make a difference in kids’ lives as part of the Mustang Mentoring program. Later this year, she’ll be studying nursing at Carroll University.

Claire Mihalko, Appleton East High School/Tesla Engineering Charter School

claire scholarship winner

A student at both Appleton East and Tesla Engineering Charter School, Claire engaged in activities that created a lasting impact. She worked to develop an alternative biofuel for communities in Zambia, Africa, as part of a Lemelson-MIT InvenTeam and volunteered as a summer library program assistant. She plans to pursue a degree in chemical engineering at the Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology.

Molly Ruffing, Kaukauna High School

molly scholarship winner

With plans to attend Lawrence University where she will study both English and psychology, Molly is one ambitious individual. She was a member of Kaukauna High School’s jazz, marching, pep, and polka bands. Outside of academics, Molly was a core team leader at St. Katherine Drexel Parish, where she taught religious education classes to seventh and eighth grade students.

The John Aman Memorial Scholarship is awarded each year in honor of its namesake, Unison Credit Union’s first CEO, who was hired in 1970. Aman was passionately committed to both the credit union industry and his community and was well known for his volunteering and service efforts.

Looking for more information about local scholarships or Wisconsin’s top-notch universities? Check out these additional blogs to learn more:

Unison Credit Union does not knowingly collect, maintain, or use personal information from our website about children under age 13. If a child whom we know to be under age 13 sends personal information to us online, we will only use that information to respond directly to that child, notify parents, or seek parental consent.